How to Help Friends Lower Their Bounce Rate

 

Don't bounce when you read! | Kyla Matton Osborne | #reading #Google #bloggingadvice
Lower bounce rate equals better Google placement. Stick around to read a few pages!
(Image: JanDix / Pixabay/CC0 1.0)

 

What is Bounce Rate and Why Does It Matter?

Bounce rate is one of the ways that we measure how well a web site holds its readers’ attention. How useful or engaging is the content? How likely is the reader to share the link with others, or to bookmark the site and make a return visit? If the site offers a service or product for sale, how likely will readers be to make a purchase?

Here’s what Google has to say on the subject:

 

Bounce rate: the percentage of single-page sessions

(i.e. sessions in which the person left your site from the entrance page without interacting with the page)

~ Google

 

So bounce rate is a measurement of how often people only read one page on your site and then leave right away. That’s taken as a sign that your blog isn’t really all that interesting, and Google will take that into consideration when it ranks pages on your blog in the search results.

 

How Can You Help Lower a Friend’s Bounce Rate

Many times when friends visit one another’s blogs, they just read one post. Many have seen a notification of the new post on a web site, or have seen a shared link on one of their social networks. They pop in, read the post, and then close the blog.

That single-page visit counts as a bounce.

In order to prevent the system recording a bounce, you need to look for at least one other page on the site to visit. It could be a previous post, but you could just as easily be a category or a tag for a topic area that interests you. By clicking and looking at another page, you are eliminating a bounce. By sticking around to view one or more additional pages, you are helping to raise the pages per visit statistic, and the amount of time spent on the site.

 

Help Friends Lower Their Bounce Rate | Kyla Matton Osborne | #blogging #writing #Google
Be sure to stick around a read a few pages, to lower the bounce rate!
(Image: OpenClipartVectors / Pixabay/CC0 1.0)

 

Pass the Word Along So More Friends Benefit!

Be sure to let your friends know about the importance of sticking around to view more than one page when they visit a blog. This will help more blogging friends to lower their bounce rate and, if those friends do the same when they visit you, you’ll improve our bounce rate too!

If you found this post helpful, please let me know! I love to read feedback about what topics helped you and what you still need to clarify. I am also open to questions you may have on other subjects. I am not an expert but if I don’t know the answer, I’ll often be able to find it. Don’t be shy to ask your writing questions here.

You can bookmark or share this post by using the social media sharing buttons at left. I’ve also created this image especially for Pinterest, if you want to use it for pinning this post:

 

How to Help Friends Lower Their Bounce Rate | Kyla Matton Osborne | #blogging #Google #SEO

 

Would you like to give blogging a try? Why not join us on BlogJob? You’ll have the opportunity to set up your own WordPress blogs, and to earn a little money writing on them too.

24 thoughts on “How to Help Friends Lower Their Bounce Rate

  1. These suggestions will work nicely for those of us who understand and practice them among ourselves, but it’s frustrating to me that a single page read is considered a bounce. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way, but if it’s the rule, it’s the rule we all have to live by.

    1. It is really frustrating, especially when many of us visit each other more or less daily, and only have maybe one new post to read. But I guess Google wants to see us getting unique visits, and to see readers staying around to click on another page. To them it’s proof that we can hold the reader’s interest.

  2. Wow thanks for this mydear, i’ve learn a lot from your tips. I dont have any idea about this bounce rate and the numbers under pages too. Will share this to let others know about it dear.

    1. Thank you so much, dear heart! Every time we share a little more knowledge with our fellow writers, we are all uplifted!

    1. Thanks Michelle! Such praise is greatly appreciated coming from someone as knowledgeable as you :)

  3. Of all my blogs I’ve noticed that the one that gets the most readers is also the one with the highest bounce rate. As most of my traffic to that blog comes from Reddit, and probably a lot of the same people visit each new post, I think it’s really going to be difficult to bring the bounce rate down on that one. The people at Reddit aren’t likely to want to help me with that.

    1. As the author of the blog, you can try to include a call to action near the end of your post. Link that to one of your other posts, to encourage readers to click onto another page on the blog. Or if you have a blog with good visuals, maybe one of those “related posts” feeds at the foot of the post could help.

  4. @ruby3881 Thanks for writing about this, I have never heard of it before, I will have to start read more than just one page. I usually do because it takes times to get around and once I get to someone they have written a few article to I will try to read more than one of them.

    1. Brenda, I find that visiting more pages on a given author’s blogs means I get to fewer people in a given day. But I’m hoping that I make up for it in sharing several of their posts in a shorter time frame, and that this will have the effect of giving the writer improved exposure.

  5. Is it a bounce if we stop to comment but don’t go to another page? i thought interacting with a page or spending two minutes on it prevented the bounce. You’ll be happy to know I reread two posts here before reading this one, and I also pinned that lovely image.

    1. I also thought that spending more time on a post (or commenting) would prevent a bounce, but now I’m not altogether sure if it does @barbrad.

      I’ve noticed that a lot of things on BlogJob don’t seem to register as a new page loaded (e.g. leaving a comment on a forum post.) Our points only seem to update when the page is refreshed through a browser reload, or when we go to another page on the site. This applies to comments on blogs too, it seems. I suspect that would have an impact on bounce rate.

      Better safer than sorry! While some calculations of bounce rate include time spent on the site, not all of them seem to. And if they do include time or inputs like comments or social media shares, even better!

  6. Great information Kyla, I guess we learn something new every day. This is surley something that I never heard of before. Thanks for taking the time and sharing.

    1. I’m so glad you found the information helpful, Sam! Thanks a bunch for stopping by and leaving me a comment :)

  7. Sometimes I wonder if my posts are written on rubber – the bounce rate looks to be almost 100%! :)

    1. It will be difficult to gauge the results, as you’ll be working on improving your friends’ bounce rates. But once they see what you’re up to, they’ll want to try too. When you start to see comments from a single reader coming in clumps, you’ll know it’s caught on :)

  8. Thanks for sharing such a good technique. When I read you wrote about “bounce rate”, I was wondering what it is and I am glad it’s well explained here.

    I’ll definitely do this, and share this post as well, as this is really useful for bloggers. :)

    1. I think we’ll all see a wonderful return if many of us work on this project together, @kaka135. Thanks for being the first to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

