5 Cool Tips to Help You Get the Best from Pinterest

 

5 Cool Tips to Help You Get the Best from #Pinterest by Kyla Matton Osborne (Ruby3881) |  Where Angels Fear to Tread | #socialmedia

 

So you’ve pinned your post to Pinterest. But is anyone going to notice it? If they notice it, will they click it? If they click it, will they also want to pin your content to one of their Pinterest boards?

The answers to these questions will not only determine if you’re going to get traffic to your web site or blog, but also whether Pinterest is going to rate your content as a “quality pin.” And of course, that matters because quality pins are what gets into the Pinterest feed . . .

So how do you get noticed? And what Pinterest strategies will help you get more repins? Check out these five Pinterest tips!

#1 Size Your Images for Pinterest

Pinterest uses a grid display, so it’s important that your images fit within its grid. Learn the ideal size for a Pinterest image, and if you want to get a bit more advanced you can learn about the acceptable range of sizes and aspect ratios that work on Pinterest.

#2 Use Image Alt Tags

You should always use alt tags for your images, for a lot of reasons. But be sure that you optimize those alt tags for Pinterest when you write them. When you or a reader pin your content, Pinterest will generally show whatever text is in the alt tag. So you want to be sure those are the words you want people to see on Pinterest!

You may decide to include the title of your article and your byline. Or you may prefer to use a short description that will tell Pinterest users what your content is about. Taking the time to craft a useful alt tag ensures that the article you worked really hard to create won’t end up getting pinned with a vague description like “image” or “Image from Pixabay.”

 

Grow your #blog with #bestpractices for #Pinterest | 5 cool #socialmediatips | Kyla Matton Osborne (Ruby3881) | Where Angels Fear to Tread | #rubywriter
Grow your blog with best practices for Pinterest (Pinterest flower image by mkhmarketing/Flickr/CC BY 2.0)

 

#3 Add Keywords and Hashtags

You probably know that using keywords in your blog post or article helps boost your search engine ranking. And you may know that keywords in the title of your post have an added benefit. But don’t forget to add those keywords to your alt tag too! Again, Pinterest will pick up the alt tag when it grabs the image. You can always add them in yourself when you pin your article, if you’ve forgotten. But most of your readers won’t think to fix that for you….

The same goes for popular hashtags that relate to your content. Pinterest uses hashtags the same way Twitter and other social media sites do. Meaning that if you put that “#” sign in front of a keyword, it becomes a link. Clicking on a hashtag will bring up other pins that use the same tag. And this is also a good way to find other pins that relate to your writing niche or areas of interest!

#4 Interact on Pinterest

Like all social media sites, Pinterest has an etiquette. Don’t just pin your own content. Try to find cool articles by other authors who write on your topics, and add these to your Pinterest boards. You can also browse Pinterest and repin cool pins. The person who added the original pin will get a notification that you saved their pin, which may help get you noticed. But you’re even more likely to get noticed on Pinterest by commenting on Pins. If you also drop a comment on the blog post itself, that’s like the trifecta of interaction. And if you do this consistently when you visit Pinterest, you will increase your exposure on the internet.

 

Keep calm and pin on | Best practices for #Pinterest | #socialmedia
Image: mkhmarketing/Flickr/CC BY 2.0

 

#5 Repin Old Pins

One of the unfortunate things about Pinterest is that many of your Pins won’t get noticed. They scroll down off the screen as new pins are added after them, just the same way Tweets scroll out of view on Twitter or posts scroll out of view on Facebook or Google+.

So don’t be afraid to repin your older pins. This will help your new and old followers find pins they may have missed. Repin if you update your content, or when its subject is likely to be more relevant (e.g. seasonally, for pins to content specific to a given holiday or time of year) or if the topic is trending. And remember too, that if your content moves or if the URL changes, you can both update the old pin and create a new pin for those who haven’t yet seen it!

23 thoughts on “5 Cool Tips to Help You Get the Best from Pinterest

    1. I really need to take some time out to revamp my Pinterest account, Brenda. I’ve been really good lately about making images that are optimized for Pinterest when I post on my blogs and writing sites. But I desperately need to go in and organize my boards, write keyword-rich descriptions, and most probably set up at least one additional Pinterest account so I’m not cramming everything into one place.

  1. Hi Kyla! How wonderful it was to find your blog today. I just wanted to share a little information about what I’ve learned about Pinterest: This social media site has become a major search engine. They utilize words for searches and not hashtags. So you don’t want to include a hashtag if you want the search engine to index your pin for the keywords you’re using. For example if you use the word “cake” the Pinterest search engine will be able to index it, but if you add a hashtag like #cake, their search engine will not be able to read it because of the hashtag. What’s important is to make sure your board names AND board descriptions are keyword rich so the Pinterest search engine will know exactly what each of your boards is about and can send great traffic your way. Many good wishes for a wonderful summer weekend! :-)

    1. Thanks so much for the info, Denay! I’ve got a lot of work to do with Pinterest, and I ultimately need to split my content between two or more accounts that each have a tighter focus. When I do that, I will be sure to take your advice about keywords to heart! Thanks again :)

  2. Now that the challenge is over (except for some finishing touches on the last post) I’m going to go back to my old blog post and redo images to make sure at least one is optimized for pinning and another large enough for easy Buffer sharing on FB and Pinterest. The promotion takes more time than the writing.

    1. Most definitely! I probably spend twice as long on making/obtaining/optimizing graphics as I do on writing. I spend about the same amount of time on promotion strategies like backlinking, choosing tags, sharing to social media, etc. And then more time for interacting on BlogJob and elsewhere, networking with new connections, etc.

  3. I don´t think I have used hashtags in my pins. Thanks for sharing this information. I sometimes forgot to pin my posts.

    1. I used to often forget. Now I have an article template that includes a place to copy the URL for Pinterest pins, Tweets, Google+ posts, etc. This way I know if I’ve forgotten to share. And if later the link changes, I’ll know to go back and edit or leave a comment that provides the updated URL :)

  4. Oh Kyla thank you for this article. As someone who is using Pinterest, but didn’t know all the different things about it , I found this article very informative. Now I just need my brain to remember the most important things every time I use Pinterest. I will try to become a better pinner.

    1. It’s all baby steps, Olivia. One thing at a time :)

      I’m just learning a lot of this stuff and passing it along to you. And there are always changes in the way certain web sites work, so each change means another new thing – or several things! – to learn.

    1. I think it’s a little more nuanced at Pinterest than on some sites, Brenda. But I do like that if I use a tag in my pin and then click on it, I can see similar pins that I might want to repin, visit, and comment on :)

  5. I have an account but I have neglected it, however since I have the pin button I think I will do a little looking and pinning.

    1. The sharing buttons are very handy, aren’t they? I really love the bright colours on the Super Socializer ones. They make people want to use them :)

    1. It’s something I’ve only started to do. I don’t know how much it will help my Pins, but I know that if I click the tags I can see similar content. And that’s a good thing!

    1. If you can post 10-30 pins a day, you’ll see good results Danny. That number should include some of your own writing, but mostly writing from others. And it can also include repinning cool things you find while on Pinterest :)

    1. Diya dear, it’s really not a good idea to leave a bunch of one-word comments everywhere. It’s likely to set off spam filters. Or writers might delete your comment, which will cost you points.

      A comment should be thoughtful, and relate to the article you’ve just read. It can be a question, or you could share your own tip or experience. Or you can simply just say what you liked about the post :)

Leave a Reply

