What is the Ideal Size for Pinterest Images?

 

What is the Ideal Size for Pinterest Images? by Kyla Matton Osborne (Ruby3881) | Where Angels Fear to Tread (modified from an image by Tungilik/Wikimedia Commons/CC0 1.0)

 

Did you know that every social networking site displays your images a little differently? An image that works well on Facebook won’t necessarily be right for Pinterest or Google+. Each network has its own optimal image size, so you may want to have more than one image displayed on your posts in order to offer your readers a selection that works well across a range of social media.

Best Size for Pinterest Images

You may have noticed that this week I’ve begun adding some tall graphics at the beginning of some of my posts. These gigantic images were created specifically for Pinterest. They’re made to fit the Pinterest grid, and are 736 x 1102 px.

There’s actually a range of acceptable image sizes for Pinterest, with a width of 600 px being the smallest and 736 px being the widest that can be accommodated. Pinterest likes an aspect ratio of 2:3. So you can calculate the ideal height for your image, based on its width.

I’ll be writing more about this at a later date, but I thought you might want to know a little about it now. Consider this the intro, or the heads up!

21 thoughts on “What is the Ideal Size for Pinterest Images?

  1. Thank you for sharing this! I have always been wanting to create my own picture for Pinterest purpose after reading your posts, so getting the right size is important to me.

    I have also just found out there are different ideal image sizes for other social media sites as well. I am thinking if we add in more pictures, we might slow down the page loading. So, perhaps two pictures in a post would be good?

  2. It never even dawned on me that there was a preferred photo size for any site. I’ve been trying to keep my photos small to prevent thieves from using them elsewhere. I guess I’ll have to consider adding something Pinterest friendly to my new posts going forward, but that 1102 pixel height is a bit of a problem because those pictures don’t even fit on my screen.

    1. They don’t fit on my screen either! I design my Pinterest images in GIMP, at about 2/3 their actual size so I can see the whole image at once :)

  3. I just recently learned that square is out and the new long size is in. I now put that long size at the end of my articles preceded by this message or something like it. “If you enjoyed this post, please share it. The image below was designed especially for Pinterest.” I then add anything specific about the image itself. I create my image with PicMonkey as a collage in most cases, featuring images at the top and bottom from photos created from or on the same subject as the other photos I have used in the body. I then add text where it best fits with the title of the post, the name of the blog, and the blog address. It is generally a lot of work to get that image done, but I think I’m getting more repins. I’ve been so busy with the challenges I’ve not checked stats yet.

    1. I’ve noticed that you were adding a call to action for sharing. Glad to hear it’s paying off! Do you know, @barbrad, if it’s permitted to do that here on BlogJob?

      1. I just edited one of my posts here, resized the images and added a new one for Pinterest and added the call to action. I think I earned that from Linda J. Martin, a Facebook friend, probably a mutual friend. She was doing it on her challenge posts. I copied her. Our posts here are supposed to be our own blogs and the content up to us, as long as we adhere to Google rules about content. All the blogging gurus mention that a call to action is important. I have not seen any rule against it here. What’s not allowed is spamming the social networks in an unnatural way, like asking all your FB friends to please click your blog link.

      2. That’s the way I’d look at it too, but one never knows with some sites, LOL! Thanks for the reassurance, @barbrad. I’m going to give it a try on today’s post :)

    2. @barbrad Thanks for sharing that. I think that’s a good idea to offer a reminder to our readers to share our posts. I have seen that in many professional blogs, so I think it should be fine to do so. Thank you for reminding me about PicMonkey too. Perhaps I’ll give that a try soon. :)

  4. Kyla, thank you for this, I had no idea and now that I do, I will try to make my pictures fit into that size. I appreciate your sharing knowledge that will benefit everyone.

    1. Olivia, you’ll likely find that unless you are starting with a portrait orientation and maybe cropping your photo, you’ll have to do a bit more fiddling to achieve the right size. It’s probably easiest to paste your photos onto a background that’s sized for Pinterest display, and then fiddle from there. Again, I’ll probably do a bit of a tutorial post for those who want a little help with that :)

    1. It really does make a difference in how well your images display on Pinterest. And it’s really not that hard to make the graphics once you get the hang of it :)

    1. You can make your own graphics using a free editor like GIMP. Most of the Pinterest divas I know use their own photo, and then just add text and a border to the picture. This makes the image the right size for Pinterest. And it also helps make their photo and article more identifiable :)

  5. I have never tried pinterest, now that you have mentioned it. I might look at that site since photography is my hobby. :)

  6. Thanks for writing this because I had no idea that the size of the picture even mattered.

    1. I didn’t know either, until a little while ago. I think it’s only recently that people have started to make the longer images. Before, people just made sure the image was big enough to fit in the allotted space…

      1. People have been using longer images on Pinterest for a long while now. It is not a recent or new thing.

        Longer images with several photos do better on Pinterest, than the small ones. as they stand out more on the page.

      2. Yes, I wasn’t very precise in how I said that Sandy. What I meant was that a lot of people (old fogies like me who are often slow to change…) have been slower to get on that bandwagon. Even some of the social media experts still aren’t using the optimal pin length despite the fact that they may have opted for a vertical/portrait orientation. A quick look around Pinterest shows you who has it figured out, and who doesn’t!

Leave a Reply

